Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Postcard from Asia Pacific

Evolving MI's 5 Mins of fame to a wider Somali audience.

My weekly 5-minute commentary is going through a bit of a growth spurt! Evolving. A big thanks to everyone tuning in to these short weekly updates—you're the real MVPs (most valuable player for gen-oldies). Now, don’t be shy! Drop your thoughts in the comments and share your views publicly. Let's get a lively discussion going among our ever-growing, wonderfully outspoken Somali diaspora.

This week, I've got a couple of ideas to throw your way, plus a few developing stories from Somalia that I’ll be sharing my two cents on. First up, a big shoutout to Ambassador Jibril Ibrahim Abdulle for his outstanding achievement. Seriously, give him a round of applause! See below for the details and prepare to be impressed.

I urge my fellow Somali ambassadors to take inspiration from this example and work towards enhancing our country's diplomatic presence on the global stage. My commitment to fostering relationships with Japanese friends, businesses, and government entities is both personal and national. Since 2008, I have consistently attended TICAD events, including TICAD 4 through 8, up to 2022. I strongly recommend that the Somali government dispatch a formal delegation to TICAD 9, scheduled for 2025. It is crucial to ensure better preparation and representation than in the previous instance, where the Somali delegation's attendance was unplanned and unexpected. For further insights, I have documented my thoughts on this matter in various publications, which can be found online. Additionally, I have shared a video detailing my personal perspective on the event.

This week, I would like to address the recent incident involving Flydubai and Ethiopian Airlines, along with the associated spread of online misinformation. I commend the Somali FA Ministry and the Civil Aviation Authority for their effective management of the situation. As I highlighted in my video referenced above, there are additional issues of similar nature that require attention and corrective action. For instance, several multinational corporations, including Western Union, DHL, FedEx, and various fund transfer enterprises, operate in Somalia and would benefit from governmental oversight. Implementing a licensing system for these companies would be a constructive step forward.

Furthermore, if our burgeoning institutions encounter challenges within the technical and legal frameworks, it is entirely appropriate to seek external expertise and support. There are numerous talented young Somali professionals, including technologists and legal experts, who are both capable and eager to provide assistance.

Comments, feedback as always welcome. Till week 35, have a productive week.

Discussion about this podcast

Somali Waa kuma
Somali Waa kuma Podcast
Somalia - the good, the bad, and the unsure.